Our Landscapes

LESTARI activities are targeted in six strategic landscapes on three of Indonesia’s largest islands, where primary forest cover remains most intact and carbon stocks are greatest. In northern Sumatra, the Leuser Landscape comprises significant portions of Aceh Selatan, Gayo Lues, Aceh Tenggara, and Aceh Barat Daya districts, and includes the Aceh portion of Leuser National Park and Rawa Singkil Wildlife Reserve. In Central Kalimantan, LESTARI works in the Katingan-Kahayan Landscape, comprising Pulang Pisau, Katingan, and Gunung Mas districts; Palangkaraya municipality; and Sebangau and Bukit Baka Bukit Raya National Parks. LESTARI also works in four landscapes in Papua. Sarmi and Cyclops Landscapes are located along the northern coast and comprise Sarmi district as well as Jayapura district and municipality. The Lorentz Lowlands Landscape, comprising Mimika and Asmat districts plus a large portion of Lorentz National Park, and the Mappi-Bouven Digoel Landscape are located along Papua’s southern coast. LESTARI is managed from its headquarters in Jakarta, with offices in each landscape as well as the provincial capitals of Aceh, Central Kalimantan, and Papua.

LESTARI National Project Map_small